August 16, 2011

  • Thin line between love and weight.

    My Wife™ has a love/hate relationship with me.  Or to be more specific…my weight.  Any ancient reader of this blog (still out there? holla!) is well aware that when it comes to body habitus, on the spectrum between Ally McBeal and a Tolkien cave troll I fall somewhere in between the West Indian manatee and Andre the Giant.  Being an Apple II plus-sized man in an iPad world does have its benefits, however.  When I ventured to the mainland for college, I didn’t endure as many racial pejoratives as other Asian guys probably because I was still bigger than 90% of the non-athlete students on campus.  During my brief clubbing days I was always popular because of my height.  Well, sort of.  When everyone got separated they would always “look for Frank” in the crowd to find everyone else.  (The most action I would ever get is my female friends holding onto my arms to keep from getting swallowed by the crowd.)

    But as a married man?  My wife wants me to be smaller so that I can live longer and so she’ll have an easier time helping me transfer from bed to potty when my aged self becomes riddled with infirmities.  Well, at least that’s what the party line is.  The real reason, I suspect?  She wants a hot husband that she can show off.  Don’t lie, ladies, I know having a hot man at your side boosts your morale and social standing more than chicken cutlets in your bra.  I knew a girl whose non-negotiables included her man being so hot that when he walked into a room everyone would stop and stare (but not hotter than her, of course).  

    The problem is that whenever I get into my working out/dieting phase and drop 5 lbs. my Wife™ starts making comments about how she’s scared.  She apparently worries that in my slightly more svelte state that some girl is going to make a play for a piece of The Franksabunch™.  (She obviously doesn’t know me as well as she should, because I’ve never had that kind of  ”problem” my whole life.)

    Of course I’m making it out to be more than it really is just for drama’s sake, but when you think about it, there really is a thin line between love and weight in every relationship.  She wants me to be skinnier, but not too skinny.  I supported her going to Korea to visit family in this time of need, but I also didn’t want her to go for too long for reasons that can only be described as selfish.  You, reading this right now.  I’m sure you want your spouse to thrive at work to be able to provide for your family, but not so much that s/he is never home.  I’m sure you want your partner to stop interrupting and instead be an avid and compassionate listener, but not so passive that s/he will never offer wisdom or thoughts.  You want your boyfriend to defend and support you, but not to the point where he’s so enthralled with outbursts of anger that he pushes everyone away from you.  You want your girlfriend to give you space when you are angry, but not so much that there is no room left for forgiveness.

    We all have our expectations, but instead of demanding that our loved ones be this or that, we should instead focus on simply who they are and why they are here.  The unspoken and elusive yet glaringly obvious secret to maintaining a relationship is holding your partner’s hand.  That way, whether you are backsliding, changing for the better, barely surviving or thriving, you are doing it together.  It is not so much finding common ground as it is standing your ground with the stronger person at the time supporting the weaker person.  Anyone not willing to take turns being the stronger or weaker person with you is not worth being with at all, regardless of how skinny, handsome, rich, funny or smart they may be.

    So will I keep off those extra pounds before she comes back?  I’ve come to realize that it won’t matter because when I see her across the airport after one month of being apart, I know that I will be the hottest man in the room to her and she the most beautiful woman simply because of who we are and why we are there.

    ——

    Hope all of you are doing well.  I thought I’d follow up my emo post yesterday with something a little more vintage Franksabunch™.    Hopefully I can be more committed to Xanga after a couple years off, but we’ll see.  Who’s still around?!

Comments (39)

  • I can’t help but rec you two nights in a row. You’re seriously on a roll, Frank.

    Can’t wait to read more of your stuff again. Super, super psyched.

  • have i mentioned how glad i am that you’re back oppa?

  • aww what a great post :)

  • Yet another great post. I can’t wait for you to be reunited with your wifey again. :)

    Was it our chat the other night that got you posting again? Hahah…I so want to take credit for The Franksabunch being back! :P jk!

  • @petitetokio -  I TOTALLY agree. Xanga feels more whole now that the Franksabunch is back.

  • dr. franksabunch: there’s no need to look hot. if she wants to impress the crowd, she can just carry your medical school diploma around with her. nah seriously though, i feel like you have an advantage — since you have a doctor’s education, you’re in the best position to control your weight.

  • ancient reader here holllaaa!

    i do the same .. not with weight, but with alcohol and lifestyle. “do you want to die before me?!”

  • i’ll be thinking about this one for days. good post!

  • Aw, such warm fuzzies! I liked this… and welcome back =)

  • i’m here!!! YEEEHAW! bring the wifey on too!

  • Aw I love how you talk about your wife :) I hope one day I can get to that stage in my relationship. I really enjoyed your post.

  • So true how in the airport it won’t matter what size you are, you’ll just be happy to see each other again :) I hope you’re not eating only cup ramen and spam, oppa! Keep healthy :D

  • I’m still around, sorta. Well, i have been slowly but surely getting back into it.

    Anyways, i personally have been on a weight loss stretch of late (then again, i have no significant other pulling on me like you have), but i would just say that you being healthy and losing weight will always have more positive effects than negative effects. So, i’d say go ahead and drop the weight if you can. After all, later on, you can more easily gain the weight than lose it.

    See you around!

  • How much weight we talking about here.

  • For a woman, the fear is relieved when we are “reassured” of y’alls genuine care and devotion. So lavish her in “how much you love her”…just a small, helpful suggestion.

    Great post, Frank! It’s nice to read your writing/get to know you some, after having heard so much about you. :)

  • Xanga definitely missed your presence Frank! So glad you’re back. Hope you stay a while longer.

  • Btw, I understand your stance on accepting the person based on who s/he is and all, but if you really want to drop those pounds, Primal Diet is actually pretty useful, and easy to follow. I would rec that.

  • what up frank… still reading… great entry… wish i could be a little more dedicated to the journal, so hard to find time…..my 20+ memory of frank is a super sweet, mellow kid, cracking little jokes to those nearby whenever the chance arose, marching with a tuba (sorry this memory sticks hard).  Now look at you… still the same but no tuba :)

    one month apart is a super long time, there’s no doubt the reunion scene will be sweet! hang in there!

  • Thanks for sharing your wisdom on what marriage means. I hope I’ll understand it better in the future. :)

  • @akareee -are you back too?!!? 

  • I love this. Marriage is not only about accepting our limitations and faults, but those of our spouse as well. Additionally, we also have to keep in mind how much is actually acceptable before it becomes detrimental to our own well being. It’s a crazy little balancing act but if we get it right, all the spoils are ours. :)

  • I’m trying to get back into updating my xanga, too. I’ve been around for a long time, since late 2003/early 2004 to be esemi-xact, but I don’t think you and I ran into each other or had any subs in common.

    This is a great post — you bring up a few good points!

  • Can’t argue with any of those points~ =) Love the “vintage Franksabunch” but yesterday’s post was good too.

  • great post! i definitely have a few friends that suffer from the “hot man = hot me” syndrome

  • I love this post and I strongly concur with every word you wrote. My boyfriend and I mutually agreed time and time again that if either of us gained 500 pounds (or more, even) we would still love the other person.

    I missed your posts dearly! To me, you always one of the few people I know who had the best insight in things. It’s nice to see you around again!

  • @jaywalkers - nah, she disdains the whole internet thangamabob, but speaking of which, what happened to your hubbs?  For years I’ve always mixed up who is married to who (SloMo vs. Metalmuscle) between you and sdwignt and it’s even worse now that both hubbs don’t post anymore.

    @RulerofMasons - Not much, just about 5 lbs.

    @spamandrice - That’s former #1 in the state 9th grade tuba player, to be correct.  AHEM. Haha!  I used to always think when I saw you, “how in the world does that little girl carry the bass drum during marching band and still whack it so hard?!”

  • Good post. I always did and still do like your posts, even though I am barely on here anymore. :) After being separated from my fiance for almost 3 weeks, I was sooo excited to see him picking me up at the airport, I didn’t care how he looked like or what deficits he had. I just missed seeing him and being with him, and yes, he was the most handsome guy there to me. :)

  • Hiya Frank! Good to read you on Xanga again after a while of absence! Welcome back!

  • @franksabunch - slowmo_d_o! hot stuff! :) he’s all MINE! he’s got a job at an ER here in Bryan TX. we’re loving the small town life.

  • hey frank! I was thinking about coming back to xanga so I will be keeping in touch =]

  • I am a new reader, welcome back. Enjoy reading your blog, I need to lose weight but have no excuse like you do, hehe. Does it mean you may diet again after wife comes back? Mmmm

  • Ancient reader checking in…nice post. :)

  • Agree but our significant others should always help us want to be the best person we can be in all areas. We can’t simply be complacent about our status/looks/achievements. Sometimes we need that push.

  • Glad you’re back, Dr. Frank!

  • Yayyy!! So glad to see you posting again! :D Always loved reading them*
    And so true regarding what you said about its not so much about expecting your significant other to be this or that–but rather accepting them and (though yeah its a fine line between being overly accepting–standing by passively as they become a drug addict as an extreme example hehe and being overly controlling).Keep on the posting roll!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *